Clownfish keep dying! Help!

miloreif

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone. I’m new to the reef hobby, I’ve had saltwater fish for years but never kept coral. I recently set up a 50 gallon tank and it just finished cycling. I’ll list all my parameters and equipment below. My corals (GSP and Xenia) are doing great. I also have a blue tang and six line wrasse that are doing great. However I bought a pair of percula clownfish yesterday. I drip acclimated them and they seemed find for the first 24 hours. Then the first one started erratically swimming, as if it was being pushed around the by the current with no swim bladder. It died this morning. The second one seemed fine all day but now is doing the same behavior - I’m sure it will be gone by the morning. It breaks my heart. All my parameters are fine! The only two things I can think of, disease/parasites or low oxygen. But they showed no symptoms and I have a skimmer oxygenating the water. What do you think? Are my tang and wrasse next?

I use Biocube salt with all the trace minerals with RO DI water. I have a good quality NICREW LED Coral light. I have two power heads positioned on opposite ends of the tank, facing in such a way that there are no dead zones. I always make sure my hands and clean and free of any traces or soap before doing any maintenance.

Parameters:
Ammonia: 0 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrate: 10 ppm
pH: 8.2
Salinity: 1.024
Calcium: 420 ppm
Alkalinity: 9.4 dKH
Magnesium: 1300 ppm
Phosphate: 0 ppm

Equipment:
HOB filter with charcoal, sponge, and biomedia
Protein Skimmer
Heater at 80F
2 power heads
NICREW LED reef light
Plenty of live rock and sand

I also dose with Microbacter7 weekly and just started using Genesis by Polyp Lab.

Lavey29

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I dont have a QT tank set up. I know I should but I'm trying to do this on a budget in a one bedroom apartment as a college student.