Clownfish not eating + When to do first water change?

Icyymike

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Okay so I got a pair of clowns early last week, 4 full days in the tank, and they have yet to eat. I have tried brine shrimp, pellets, and then today, I combined both with some small bits of garlic. Still nothing.

I am also in the process of cycling the tank. I put in Fritzyme 9 when I added the fish, plus 11 pounds of cured rock and 20 pounds of caribsea sand. (tank is 16 gallons).

Here are my parameters for every day since starting the tank.

My salinity has gotten pretty high and saw a spike in nitrates today, so I am wondering when I should do a water change to fix the high salinity? Also any ideas on feeding the clowns? They act fairly normal, except one spent a long time pacing and will pace again anytime i turn a pump on and off.

Additional images are of the clowns (No sign of brooklynella (but im a noob) and of my set up.
results.png
Screenshot 2023-10-28 151004 - Copy.png
1.png

Last edited:

PizzaIan339

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I agree with the comment before me but also I know that clownfish pairs of 3 can work but watch out for aggression because they could start fishing and have a back up plan if they do start to fight.

OP
OP
I

Icyymike

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Generally you cycle first and then add fish later. I'd get a Seachem ammonia alert badge for your tank and if your salinity is too high, yes - dilute it by removing some saltwater and replacing with RO water.
You can kinda see it in the picture but i do have one of those already on it. Have not seen it change from yellow yet.

OP
OP
I

Icyymike

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I agree with the comment before me but also I know that clownfish pairs of 3 can work but watch out for aggression because they could start fishing and have a back up plan if they do start to fight.