Commercial frag tank, VALUE?

BigWorm150gal

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi I'm new to saltwater and this forum. In fact, this is my first post!! So can anyone help me with the value of this 60 gal commercial frag tank came out of a Petco. Acrylic about an inch thick. Has a sump with a huge skimmer and return pump. Also four bulb t5 lighting that works. Whats the most I should give for it? He said it was like ten thousand new? Thanks. I have a 150 gal I'm setting up currently to start growing coral etc.
fragtank.jpg
fragtank.jpg
fragtanksump.jpg

tiggs

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm sure it was a bit on the expensive side because it's specifically made for commercial use, but I can't see anywhere close to $10K new. I'd say brand new, that's probably about $4,500 max (and that's a comfortably high estimate). As for a buying price, I'd say $1,200-$1,500 is probably the general range the right buyer would be willing to pay. If it were me, I'd probably offer $1,000-$1,200 range.

andrewkw

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'd say the tank is worth $120-150 maybe slightly more if it was buffed and polished but it's not. $50 for the sump, $100 for the stand, maybe slightly more. Not sure what the skimmer is so I can't place a value on it. The misc stuff should just be included with it. So $300 + whatever the skimmer value. No way I'd pay $1000 for that setup. $500ish seems alright. Maybe slightly more since it has everything you want all together but new I can't see this being worth anything close to $10k. If this is 10k then a 4x8 vat that is a common size in reef shops would be $100k

The value may be higher or lower depending on your area. If used tanks are plentiful its worth less, if there is nothing else for sale locally it's going to be closer to the new value.

Sarah24!

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,