Constant Alarms from ATK?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Controllers' started by Dodgersfan, Feb 12, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Dodgersfan

    Dodgersfan Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    413
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Hopefully someone with more apex experience than me can help, i set up an ATK this weekend, I followed the video instructions for Apex connected mode here: https://www.neptunesystems.com/getstarted/atk-help/

    I updated the module firmware before beginning, and did everything exactly like the video, the only thing that was different was that when it came time to select the sensors, the video shows Swx2_1 being highlighted by default for sensor 1. in mine Swx2_3 was highlighted by default, but i selected Swx2_1 to follow the video. the only other difference was in the video they had to manually add the tiles for the ATO for the desktop, i don't have to do that, they just showed up on the desktop themselves. i started getting about 1 alarm an hour right after i set it up, but it went absolutely nuts overnight and this morning. here are the 50 most recent of the 252 alarms i've received in a little more than 12 hours:

    Apex 1.jpg apex 2.jpg


    around 7 am i manually set the ATO pump to off just because i was leaving the house and I'm paranoid about flooding. it hasn't changed anything, still alarms like crazy. i marked the ATO reservoir level with a post it note before i went to bed last night just to see if there was any water level changes. as of 645 when i left the house this morning the water level had not budged.

    what did i do wrong and how do i fix it?
     
    dhof likes this.
    Tags:

  2. spifftempo

    spifftempo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    15
    Check that your optical sensor 2 is fully connected to your FMM module- it is likely making an intermittent connection. If that that does not resolve the issue confirm that port 2 is set as an Optical Sensor the the FMM module setup. To find that, simply click on the module icon, select the FMM module and turn off auto detection and set it manually to Optical sensor:

    upload_2018-2-12_9-27-34.png
     
  3. Dodgersfan

    Dodgersfan Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    413
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    so the alarms just stopped around 930 yesterday morning and when i got home i checked all the connections and they were good, turned the ato pump back on on my apex dashboard and now it is working fine. so weird. could it have been that the firmware needed more time to update or something?
     
  4. mdbannister

    mdbannister Ahh...the Reef Life Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter Photo of the Month Award R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 R2R Secret Santa Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    22,981
    Likes Received:
    18,110
    Location:
    Ontario, California
    Mine does this occasionally. Usually something happened to make the water level raise above the safeguard sensor. I just turn off the ATK until it is below that sensor again (when it reports as open). I did have it happen once where the sensor needed cleaning and was reporting a false overfill (it just needed to be wiped off). The great thing about the ATK is that if you're using the float valve, it shouldn't be able to flood bc of the mechanical failsafe.
     
  5. Dodgersfan

    Dodgersfan Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    413
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    i bet that was it. i had just set it up and i had put it a little below where the water level was currently.
     
    mdbannister likes this.
  6. mdbannister

    mdbannister Ahh...the Reef Life Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter Photo of the Month Award R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 R2R Secret Santa Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    22,981
    Likes Received:
    18,110
    Location:
    Ontario, California
    That would do it. By the way, it will continue to report it until it drops below the line. Turning off the ATK just ensures you're not filling during that time.
     
  7. Dodgersfan

    Dodgersfan Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    413
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ok, somethings still up with my atk, I think I’ve maybe got the alarm set wrong? I don’t want to delete all the alarms, I do want it to tell me when something is actually wrong, but all these false alarms are driving me crazy. My phone buzzes with alerts 24/7. This is what it looks like, all the time:

    A3937D5D-8A90-4923-9C77-1B0F7D17BC58.png 2DB13A11-EB68-4C78-8059-C9AC76D3E78A.png


    How do I get it to stop sending me 250+ alerts daily????
     
  8. Oleshp

    Oleshp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Ocean City MD
    Is this happening all the time? Mine was sending me alarms whenever my return pump was off (so anytime I was feeding) because the sensor was covered. You can program the higher sensor to go through a virtual outlet before it triggers the alarm and have that outlet off whenever the return pump is off.
    There was another thread recently that outlines that.
    I Hope that helps and is somewhat relevant to your problem
     
  9. Dodgersfan

    Dodgersfan Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    413
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Yes it does that when I’m feeding and the return pump is off. But that’s not the only time it does it. It also goes off randomly throughout the day, I think it might be pinging me every time the ATO runs, I tend to get a cluster of a half dozen or so alerts within the same minute every 15 minutes or so. but I’m not totally sure, I’m not home most of the time or around the tank to check and see if they line up. I’m pretty sure I just did the default alarm coding when I set it up, I’ll run setup again this afternoon when I get home and post a screenshot of the alarm coding.
     
  10. bigroost

    bigroost Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    113
    I had the same issue, I put in a ticket with Neptune. One of their tech changed some settings and virtual outlets, now I get it maybe once a week instead of daily. You paid a lot of money for that thing just let them fix it.
     
    drawman and Dodgersfan like this.
  11. Oleshp

    Oleshp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Ocean City MD
    I would also try contacting neptune. Mine was only coming on when the pump was off. Now it's only if I have my arm in the tank and the level rises in the sump. My alarm is defered for 45 seconds also to give the levels time to stabilize after the pump comes on.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...