Coral dying? And how to save.

Knight_Solaire01

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello one and all. I am fairly new to the salt water hobby and as such I have learned a lot while building and watching my tank grow. I have noticed that some of my new corals do not open all the way or even half of the time. I have asked my store to test my water every week before a water change(five gallons a week for a 32 gallon biocube). So far my PH, Nitrates, Nitrites, Calcium, and salt are all good. My Alkalinity was very high at 14, two weeks later it has only gotten down do 12. I need it to be 10 or less for the corals to be happy. So far my Zoanthids are happy, but the rest are not flourishing. My green star polyps only opens half way half the time which is troubling. If a coral that easy to take over a tank is not doing well, then something is wrong. My montipora are not dying, but they aren't opening. And just recently I noticed my gorgonia has started to die. I have noticed one arm of the gorgonia has developed black coloring in the middle as well as all polyps in that area to shrink back in. From the point of the coloration onward, all polyps are out, but they don't open. The other arms have all polyps out and open or retracted if a cleaner shrimp climbs on. So all arms still function fine but the one with the blackness. Should I cut off that arm past the black color and perhaps glue the healthy arm to another piece of reef rock? Also I have noticed off and on a group of growing algae over almost everything from the back wall, to the glass(which I clean every other day as I see growth), to even the horsehoe crab. My water is fine according to the water tests, but should I be worried about the algae? Also what is to be done about the gorgonia?
P.S. I have Red Sea Reef Energy AB+ and I have noticed the zoanthids love it.