Coral Propagation from Home - advice/tips

Brian Goldstein

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Reefers-

Just some quick background information: I am a recent Biology graduate currently in the process of applying to the clinical laboratory scientist program. I have only been a reefer for 3 years , but have been passionate about it since day 1. Though I love having a show tank, I have found that I am even more fascinated with the technicalities behind aqua-culturing/propagation and everything that it entails.

I first need to highlight the fact that I am NOT getting into propagation to make money , however, getting into propagation inevitably begs the question: "how much money could one make with a simple propagation set up?" Also, I don't think there's anything wrong with wanting to make money doing something you love, especially if both parties can benefit.

One of the reasons I am asking this question is because I find it rather odd that a majority of people who answer this question on forums are quick to tell you to "leave it to the big guys" or "it could possibly cover the expense of the hobby, but nothing more". I know the harsh realities and risks of operating a business, but I wonder how many of those who answered the question were the ones who were just never really committed/passionate enough. Surely the ones who succeeded and made propagating a profitable business didn't have that mindset, right? Even if propagating only amounts to covering my hobby expenses (which it already has with somewhat little effort), I will continue to grow and share my coral with reefers for a long time.

This is vaguely my plan:

-focusing on quality specimens over quantity (my space is limited right now)

-focusing on higher-end/harder to find corals.. (these are just the corals that I've already acquired over the years, so its the better option given my situation)