Could someone help me wire/install NanoBox DIY LED arrays?

Fish Fan

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys! I hope someone here can help me. I am a noob when it comes to electronic projects, but I really want to learn to build my own LED lighting systems for both fresh and saltwater tanks. Because of the overwhelming varieties of individual LED's out there (brand, bin, color, watts, etc.), I have gravitated towards the idea of using some kind of COB or "all-in-one" type chipset, such as the pucks or strips offered by BlueAcro or the NanoBox V3.1 Array. In my mind, this greatly simplifies my build by eliminating the whole process of what kind and combination of individual LED's to choose.

As a noob, I had some questions about both products, and I reached out to both companies, and unfortunately I never heard anything back from Blue Acro, but Dave at NanoBox has been kind enough to address all my inquires promptly. I think it's a given that his products are excellent, and since his service so far has been very good, I am now like 99% sure I'd like to order one of his V3.1 reef arrays, and one of his V3.0 freshwater spectrum arrays.

My question is, could someone here really help me get a handle on exactly what else I need to run these LED arrays? For example, I understand that I need the array, a driver, a heatsink mostly likely with a fan, and a power source at the bare minimum. I personally plan on then trying to use the free Reef-Pi controller project to control my light, but there's another group here at R2R that I'm hoping will be able to help me with that end. More generally, I'm posting here looking for help choosing the heatsink, drivers, and other electronics.