Couple of questions about stocking

exnisstech

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm cycling a reefer 170 24" x 20" x 20"high tank and am thinking about doing seahorses. The tank is in the bedroom visible while laying in bed so I think it horses may make for a nice relaxing view. I already ave a mixed reef and fowlr with nems so this will be something different. I have already decided on BB and have minimal rock work in the display. I would like to have two but have no interest in breeding so I'm wondering if two females or two males would be ok together and would females be preferred over male if kept same sex together or vice versa? Will probably go with captive bred H. erectus since its my first time and from what I have read they are supposed to be fairly hardy Also would the 170 be sufficient size for two with no other stock accept cleanup crew?

SeahorseKeeper

Where's the mysis?
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OP
OP
exnisstech

exnisstech

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for the link. I actually read all of the series yesterday. I'm hoping to get by without a chiller. The tank is in our bedroom where we have a window AC unit so I can keep that room nice and cool in the summer. I figure the cost of electric will probably be less than the cost of a good chiller and no extra plumbing and equipment to deal with. I thought about a pair but I do not want to raise them and my family would not be happy seeing babies getting swept into the filter sock. Wonder if I would be better to try to get two males?

rayjay

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMO it won't matter if it is two females or two males. Each can possibly have their own potential problems.
However, if you are buying juvenile seahorses, often you would find very late developing females that originally appear to be males.

Devaji

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0