Cycling Help! (I'm new to this)

colioj

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Would love some insight on where I am at in my cycle and how much longer it may take for me to be able to add some fish. Have added Dr.Tim's One and Only and have been using Ammonium Chloride. I'm just waiting for my Nitrite to go down but I am getting impatient and wondering if there is anything I can do haha.

Day 12:
Ammonia: ~0.1ppm
Nitrite: 2.0ppm (has been at this level since day 6)
Nitrate: 10ppm
Temp: 83F (heard that higher temps increase bacteria growth)

*Using API Saltwater Master Test Kit*

Thanks in advance!

ScubaFish802

Just keep swimming
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you are following this instruction sheet - https://store.drtimsaquatics.com/Recipes_ep_54-1.html

Then you are on your way about as fast as you can be :) Once ammonia and nitrites go to Zero, do a big water change to get the nitrates out of the water and you should be completely cycled!

Nitrifying bacteria are the slow growers, so it makes sense this step in the cycle may take a little longer

MnFish1

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Nitrite - is often 'inaccurate' (and not a problem in salt water) - Your nitrate rising is a good sign. Ammonia with Api is often inaccurate - are you still dosing it? If not - dont add more - and I would just wait until it drops to 'safe levels' (which with API - some would say <.025)
I would not use a different temperature - that you are going to use in your tank
Im sure that @brandon429 would suggest something.
Good luck!!

OP
OP
C

colioj

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you are following this instruction sheet - https://store.drtimsaquatics.com/Recipes_ep_54-1.html

Then you are on your way about as fast as you can be :) Once ammonia and nitrites go to Zero, do a big water change to get the nitrates out of the water and you should be completely cycled!