Cycling questions with conflicting numbers

llovasco

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone!

I am new to the saltwater world and set up a new 29 gallon just over a week ago. After dry rock and live sand it has a water volume of 22 gallons. I am currently using Walmart purple cap distilled water and IO reef crystals. I have been dosing pure ammonia and stability over the last week. I tested my water yesterday at the lfs and they only tested phosphate and nitrates but those came back with .5 phosphate and 80 nitrates. I believe they used Salifert tests. They were very surprised by these numbers and suggested several 25% water changes.

I have been testing regularly at home using API, which I know if not as accurate, but when I got home from the lfs I tested my water and my parameters show .25 ammonia, .5 nitrites and 10 nitrates as shown. I cannot believe that my test is that far off from theirs. I have had freshwater aquariums for some time so I am confident that I am doing the test correctly.

My question is before I start doing changes what is everyone’s thoughts? I have read that nitrites present can cause a false nitrate reading. Is that possibly what happened at the lfs or should I really be doing some water changes now just one week into my cycle?

BD4E8350-23B6-4FD1-BFB2-D6B7BCAD42DB.jpeg

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

llovasco

rkpetersen

walked the sand with the crustaceans
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think your numbers are more likely to be correct. I don't see how you could have gotten to 80 nitrates in that short a time. A phosphate of 0.5 is also very high and seem unlikely unless your dry rock has leached quite a bit. Nitrites can falsely elevate nitrate readings, which is why you don't bother measuring nitrate until nitrite has fallen to 0. But it still doesn't sound right. If it were me, I'd purchase some better tests and check it again myself. Red Sea or Hanna.

PatW