Decided to turn off my protein skimmer...

Zeal

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Tank:IM 40 G AIO

So I've been batteling with Tunze 9001 for a couple months now I've done everything I can think of to get it working. All it does it fill the cup up with water and create micro bubbles. I'm tired of dealing with it.

I decided to take it out last night and I'm worried if it was the right thing to do. I'm currently running a refegium in a media basket with cheato and live rock. I also have seachem Matrix, purgin and chemiclear blue. I'm thinking about replacing the protein skimmer with the filter socks that came with the tank and see how that goes for a bit.

I have 6 fish a cleaner shrimp and a pistol so my bioload isn't all that crazy but I have quite a bit of corals. I do weekly 5g water changes also so the tank is pretty clean...

Been reading alot that having a skimmer isn't always needed but there's alot of opinions... What else can I do to maximize my efforts without having a skimmer?

Gareth elliott

Read, Tinker, Fail, Learn
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Have any pictures of your setup?

There are other options to a skimmer, the big reason to run one is air exchange.

If i ran my system without a skimmer i would probably add another power closer to the surface, increase the amount of gac i use, and add a cryptic zone of sponges on my sump.

OP
OP
Zeal

Zeal

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Have any pictures of your setup?

There are other options to a skimmer, the big reason to run one is air exchange.

If i ran my system without a skimmer i would probably add another power closer to the surface, increase the amount of gac i use, and add a cryptic zone of sponges on my sump.
It's a all in one tank so the skimmer is just hanging in it's own chamber

Gareth elliott

Read, Tinker, Fail, Learn
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0