Diadem dottyback with dropsy/gill infection?

heathermoor

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I'm looking for any advice.

I'm a newbie and have a nano set up of about 35 litres (UK). I have two blue legged hermit crabs and just one fish in it - one diadem dottyback which I have had for about 4 months, which I got once I was sure the tank was cycled. They have all been doing great together until over Christmas - 26 December I noticed it - the fish developed pine cone scales and was swollen. I test the water regularly and it has pH 8.2, trace ammonia, zero Nitrates and Nitrites. The temperature is set at 80F and the salinity - I check with red sea refractometer - is kept at 1.026.

I used some stuff called eSHa OODINEX which is available in the UK as a wide range marine fish and invert safe treatment. It has active ingredients ethacridine lactate 4.8mg, proflavine 0.7mg Malachite green 3.45mg and methylene blue 0.14mg in water. The swollenness has gradually decreased over the three day treatment the pack recommends. He just has a little swollenness over a smaller area and the scales stick out much less now. So I was hopeful he was recovering. I put him on a diet of frozen brine shrimp in case he was constipated as his preferred food is Hikari marine pellets and I thought maybe he had had too much of them - I feed a lot - perhaps too much - so that the crabs get some too. Just the odd pellet now and the brine shrimp which he tells me are rubbish compared to his pellets.