Did I make my wall too tall?

Averhoeven

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
At the suggestion of an engineer, I have decided to reinforce my I joists and build a pair of supporting walls underneath where my tank is. I measured from the bottom of the joist to the floor and for 104 5/8". I built my wall lying down so that I could get long, perpendicular nails in with the idea that I would raise it into position. It measures 104 5/8 as well, miraculously. However, I start to get a lot of resistance at this point when raising it and it has a way to go still. It's it somehow too tall or should I try really hard to bang it in there? If it is too tall, should I try to just sand down an 1/8th or something? Could even do it just where the joists cross.
Thanks for the help

20180701_220409.jpg

justin.k.nelson

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If the tank is already filled, looks like you have some sagging already. I'm no expert, but maybe you might need one of those Jack's to realign the joist and then put the braces under.

Maggie321

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Look up the pathagoreum theorem. That is why your wall won't fit. The measurement from 1 corner to the opposite corner is more than your total height. Probably by just a fraction of an inch. But still enough to make it super tight. I would say you could pound it into place.

Larry L

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Agree with @Maggie321 , it's going to be a fraction longer than 104 5/8 on the diagonal (less than a tenth of an inch) but if you measured correctly should be fine when finally in place.

Maggie321

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It is also called cosine error. YouTube it!

hwntunda

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0