Digital Aquatics Customer Service

Discussion in 'Aquarium Controllers' started by DSmithZ28, Nov 29, 2017.

  1. DSmithZ28

    DSmithZ28 Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Not a common post in the forums as we all know Digital Aquatics customers service is not all that great. But be advised that they have removed their phone number form their webpage and not responding to emails either. I have left multiple messages and emails with no response.

    My issue has been with the Net Module. I got it installed and finally online using this DD-WRT hack on a Netgear wireless router: https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/h...r-into-a-wireless-adapter-using-dd-wrt.59671/

    The problem is the online interface does not recognize my modules and lists them as Unknown. The sidebar FAQ says you have to call DA to get this resolved. So I guess I'm done with this. Way too many hours into this mickey mouse setup. $30 bucks I just bought 100ft Cat 5 Cable and will run it through the wall to my router in the bedroom. I could have done that in 1 hour compared to the hours of reading and messing with a wireless bridge setup. I just hate having to unplug the iTemp to use the SID because it flashes an alarm and my heaters come on because the RKL thinks it's 77 degrees in there for some reason and the temp just goes up quickly. (I run two ehiem 200w heaters on a 90 gal)

    Just thought I would advise anyone trying to reach DA for support.
     
    Tags:

  2. Ryanbrs

    Ryanbrs Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    1,736
    Honestly, no one should be selling the net module without a huge warning that this is a giant pain in the butt and will almost certainly disappoint most users. They openly admit this and anyone who has ever sold one knows. The only reason to have it available is a very very small fraction of very technologically enabled folks with the exact right network and equipment will be successful using it.

    I personally value how inexpensive the whole RKL platform is and think it is a solid product with very little competition at this price point. That said network connectivity, ability to send email notifications and general support really isn't the primary component of their value proposition. Disappointing for sure.
     
  3. EuroDriver

    EuroDriver Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    There's a firmware update that came out recently for the net module (it's a little different that simply updating via the SID). It's on their homepage with a link to the update file. Have you run that yet?

    I hear you on the customer service issue. I was very frustrated with them the last time I needed tech support. It took a few days but when they finally addressed me, they rolled out the red carpet with personalized attention.
     
  4. crs751

    crs751 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    76
    The best way I’ve found to get support is to send in a support request through their website. There are delays getting a response but when they do reply they are dogged in getting your issues resolved. I can’t speak for the other controller manufacturers but it is my opinion that DA really only has one person in support and that is Eric. I recently had a ticket in and someone else responded so maybe they are getting Eric some help. It has to be a daunting task for one person to follow up on all of those claims.
     
  5. n2585722

    n2585722 Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,270
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Cedar Park, Tx
    Some of us here know about the NET. Are you having issues updating the firmware?
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2017
  6. n2585722

    n2585722 Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,270
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Cedar Park, Tx
    To fix the SID issue get a HUB module. This is a 5 way buss splitter and will allow you to hook the SID and the iTemp up together. The HUB does not count toward the 4 module limit. Also When I was using my RKE I used a Hawking Technology wireless multi channel USB adapter with their software to connect the SID wirelessly to a computer. That was a long time ago though.

    As far as the unknown modules it couls be newer released modules. There is a webpage update that fixes this for the NET. This is different than a software update. If you want I will see if I can locate the link. Do you remember which modules that were showing as unknown?
     
  7. n2585722

    n2585722 Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,270
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Cedar Park, Tx
    OK, I located the new webpage file http://digitalaquatics.com/downloads/NET-1-0212.zip. Download and unzip. Then open the NET module webpages. There is a way to update the webages from the menu. I would have to power up my RKE with the NET to give specific instructins if you need them. Just let me know if you need them.
     
  8. Bmezz

    Bmezz Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    OC California
    they told me today they are down to 2 people. not sure if that means the company is in trouble?
     
  9. n2585722

    n2585722 Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,270
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Cedar Park, Tx
    It means they have two people less than normal.
     
    Jeepguy242 likes this.
  10. crs751

    crs751 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    76
    I am working with a temp support guy to resolve an Archon issue. I was told that the controllers don’t make money for their company and that they are close to the end. Wonder why they sell equipment knowing they are likely not going to be around to support it
     
  11. Bmezz

    Bmezz Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    OC California
    When that gets out to the reef community it will be over for DA
     
  12. n2585722

    n2585722 Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,270
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Cedar Park, Tx
    Dynon Instrument owns Digital Aquatics. They make instruments for avaition. I don't kmow anymore than that.
     
  13. Bmezz

    Bmezz Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    OC California
    that stinks after some of us invested alot..
     
    DSmithZ28 likes this.
  14. DSmithZ28

    DSmithZ28 Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Mississippi
    It’s a good product I don’t understand why they are running it into the ground. Surely someone or some company would be willing to buy it and invest in it.
     
  15. Bmezz

    Bmezz Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    OC California
    I wonder what it would take to buy into this company. A smart group of reefers could be a great set of owners!
     
    DSmithZ28 likes this.
  16. patfat

    patfat Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    TX
    When going on there website they have a new system (well to me) as I never seen it on the forums or anyone posting any thing about it...are they still going under?


    IMG_5310.jpg
     
  17. Bmezz

    Bmezz Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    OC California
    i would love to try the Archon so i can access the system from outside the house- i have a nicely expanded elite 2 but cant figure out the forwarding with the NET.
    anyone know of sources for Archon cheaper than the $399?
     
  18. n2585722

    n2585722 Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,270
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Cedar Park, Tx
    The only source is Digital Aquatics. You will still need port forwarding and a ddns service with the Archon. It has network and wifi built in. I think it has been out for three years.
     
  19. Bmezz

    Bmezz Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    OC California
    oh if you still need port forwarding then no good. i guess i need help to get it done for me. i can use the NET module wireless in the house.. just cant get it outside.
    Thank you!
     
  20. n2585722

    n2585722 Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,270
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Cedar Park, Tx
    What router are you using? You will need to reserve a static IP for the NET module. This can be dome within the router. Also the port forwading can be done within the router. I go through this on my build thread with the Archon. It would be similar with the NET module.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...