DIY Stand - Structural Integrity Opinions (yikes)

areefer01

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Use your favorite search engine and put in DIY Stands Template and Calculator. You should get a hit for reef central and Rocket Engineers stand. I would use that and then skin it as you see fit. Multiple options such as single panel with magnets, or hidden hinge and doors, etc. I made one for a 40 breeder that I later repurposed for my lathe. I added a couple drawers, over head light, and a box behind to attach my shop vac.

Great template and easy to pretty up with panels or doors that do not sacrifice stability and longevity.

YMMV

OP
OP
bdesign

bdesign

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It probably will, but I’m not an engineer so I tend to overbuild everything. Just in case.

That’s my tendency, too.

I thought I’d try something different this time.

I look at the 75G stands at the local pet stores made of 1/2” particle board, and think if they can be a lunatic, I can too.

OutColdCRNA

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Built similar for my 65 gallon. 3/4 ply throughout. Pocket holed and glued. I probably could have gotten away without the center divider but I wanted a dry section for electronics away from my doser and ATO. I think with your support beams you would probably be fine.
IMG_9986.jpeg
IMG_0001.jpeg
68825852488__3D38EF9A-3A54-4C98-9D4E-B3788555A5E8.jpeg

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Dec 1, 2023 · MADISON, Ohio (WJW) — A minor, 2.4-magnitude earthquake was reported in Madison on Friday morning. It happened just before 9 a.m. near the Grand River in Lake County,

biznatch

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That’s my tendency, too.

I thought I’d try something different this time.

I look at the 75G stands at the local pet stores made of 1/2” particle board, and think if they can be a lunatic, I can too.