DIY stand

Justin Opheim

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I want to start out by saying a coupe things. I am not a structural engineer, and other then basic DIY knowledge that about sums up my exposure.

Now I have built several stands for not only myself but for others. I have always been one to ever engineer anything I built. Last thing I want it for something to go wrong because I decided to cut corners. With that said I wonder am I/we over engineering our DIY homemade stands? I know 2x4s tops and bottoms held up by another set of 2x4s in between the tops, skinned with choice of wood and Bam call her a day.

What about stands made for Red Sea & Waterbox. Mica/MDF/Particle board that is roughly 1" thick with no major corner supports (Or at least nothing close to a 2x4). Ive put together a 900xxxl RS with this design. Granted the RS does have some steel in there for structural support.

Im not talking about a 200+ gallon tank, but a 4' x 18" 80g tank. Do you trust the homemade 3/4" (Or even 1") playwood stand? Or do you step it up and over engineer it?

Copingwithpods

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm all for over kill, specially when your talking 1/4ton+ of water weight with the potential to cause damage in the 5 digits. I personally don't trust those mdf stands, even the plywood ones with ikea fasteners I don't trust but I live in earthquake country so that might influence my bias.

RocketEngineer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As the writer of what’s become the most referenced 2x4 stand design guide, I can honestly say that, yup, it’s over designed. BUT, it’s meant to be built with minimal tools so that safety factor means it’s very forgiving. Are there better designs? Sure, even my last stand was more refined. That doesn’t detract in any way from folks who use 2x material. To each their own according to their skills and needs.

Spieg

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%