Do you want to re-aquascape your reef tank? Click ahead!

BRS

Have you ever re-aquascaped your reef tank and were you happy with the results?

  • YES and I was happy

    Votes: 159 40.8%
  • YES but not happy

    Votes: 38 9.7%
  • No but am thinking about it

    Votes: 124 31.8%
  • No I have not and will not

    Votes: 50 12.8%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 19 4.9%

  • Total voters
    390

rustyreefer

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
65
Reaction score
110
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I am actually in the process now. Creating a NSA scape rather than just the rock piles I have now. My sand bed isn't too deep so I am hoping I dont have any issues when I pull the rocks out and drop the NSA in. I do want the base of the NSA to got down to the glass so I will have to move some sand around.
I have already sculpted the first NSA(right side of tank) and it has been cycling for 5 weeks or so. Cycle is finished but I just havent found time to do the work yet. Was thinking of doing it this weekend and will add pics when complete.
After doing the left side I am going to take the rocks I pull out and create an NSA for the left side, cycle it, remove old rock and drop it in.
The only other concern i have over the SB is trying to balance fish habitat/hiding areas vs coral placement. Trying to create a great scape for coral placement sometimes limits the caves and hiding holes you get with the piles. Hoping the fish do okay through the change and they all find their new homes ;Nailbiting
 

Sharkbait19

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
4,142
Reaction score
4,393
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
New Jersey
Gotta be honest... I like the before scape. Looked more natural.
I think the way the rocks piled up originally was definitely more natural. Problem was that the pistol shrimp slowly made it fall more and more to the point where it was about to capsize, so I had to change it. This new one gives lots more territories, more spots for corals (minus the sandbed), and overall looks bigger to me.
 

Dburr1014

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,103
Reaction score
680
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
The last time I re-aquascaped a tank, it involved concrete mix, a couple gallons of z-spar and about 2,000 lbs of rock. And, yes it was worth it.

GetAttachmentThumbnail-3.jpg
This reminds me of the movie "hunny, I shrunk the kids"
 

jdiefenbaugh

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 15, 2019
Messages
266
Reaction score
394
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Omaha, NE
What kind of glue did you use? And process? looks awesome!

Z-spar. It's a marine grade 2 part epoxy, and the best stuff for gluing rocks I've ever used. I used 2" fibergrate to support the large arch, and fiberglass rods with z-spar in some spots. Once the rocks are in place, I just smeared sand into the z-spar, and it looks very natural.
 

aquakj

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
172
Reaction score
149
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
91342
I’m thinking about moving my vitals around my tank has no structure it looks like I just place corals randomly so I’m thinking about better placement and more structure probably gonna do it this week
 

piozone1

New Member
View Badges
Joined
May 28, 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
sarasota
I had to take the fish to a hospital tank so taking advantage of the fact that I had to remove the rocks to remove them I decided to make a new aquascape
 

Attachments

  • 20201003_135235.jpg
    20201003_135235.jpg
    116.4 KB · Views: 26
  • 20201031_144152.jpg
    20201031_144152.jpg
    102.5 KB · Views: 28
  • 20201107_003857.jpg
    20201107_003857.jpg
    209.4 KB · Views: 25
  • 20201126_194108.jpg
    20201126_194108.jpg
    158 KB · Views: 36

cobast

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 25, 2013
Messages
62
Reaction score
40
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Australia
What do you do about detritus when rescaping?
Like whenever you pick up a base rock and you get the cloud of muck. Do you vacuum as you go and have extra water on standby to top up when finished?
 

Suesea

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
205
Reaction score
237
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
The only thing I had a problem moving was the sand without making a cloudy mess for a couple days. If you can get your son to help you I think you would feel a lot better with a move to a storage container or Rubbermaid tub. I had a tub that a light bar would fit right on it. Some of the corals actually did better because the tub was shallower than my main display. I kept them in it for a month as well so don't worry about the amount of time.
Well my son should be able to get the tubs after the 4th. I feel better just knowing their on the way.I bought new substrate and rock for the base. Just using about a cup to seed the new tank. I would do a build thread but ....am totally lost with that stuff. :rolleyes: But I am taking some pictures as we go. Thanks again everyone. Looks like yes I would reaquascape, reef scape. Lol
 

Suesea

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
205
Reaction score
237
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Well my son should be able to get the tubs after the 4th. I feel better just knowing their on the way.I bought new substrate and rock for the base. Just using about a cup to seed the new tank. I would do a build thread but ....am totally lost with that stuff. :rolleyes: But I am taking some pictures as we go. Thanks again everyone. Looks like yes I would reaquascape, reef scape. Lol
Update: well have been crying my eyes out. This is going to be an epic fail!!! Fish and rock with embedded corals are in black tubs, doing fine. Build for new tank started. 125g delivered. Set on top of custom stand. Was getting ready for my son to help with new sand and some base rock when I noticed a space between the stand and the tank. I can fit a dollar in between. I feel gutted. I know you can't fill it now. I give up.;Shy
 

Attachments

  • 20210701_115015.jpg
    20210701_115015.jpg
    159.9 KB · Views: 26
  • 20210712_141355.jpg
    20210712_141355.jpg
    110.1 KB · Views: 27

Suesea

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
205
Reaction score
237
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Update: well have been crying my eyes out. This is going to be an epic fail!!! Fish and rock with embedded corals are in black tubs, doing fine. Build for new tank started. 125g delivered. Set on top of custom stand. Was getting ready for my son to help with new sand and some base rock when I noticed a space between the stand and the tank. I can fit a dollar in between. I feel gutted. I know you can't fill it now. I give up.;Shy
So now that my dream tank dream has been shattered and I can't use my 75g due to a crack. Livestock living in tubs only a short term life. I believe I am screwed. The guy who was building the stand says it will be fine. I would have agreed but he should have put a buffer between the two. I really don't know what to do now. Any suggestions would help. Thanks
 

Jack Ravensbergen

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Messages
257
Reaction score
950
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Amsterdam Holland
So now that my dream tank dream has been shattered and I can't use my 75g due to a crack. Livestock living in tubs only a short term life. I believe I am screwed. The guy who was building the stand says it will be fine. I would have agreed but he should have put a buffer between the two. I really don't know what to do now. Any suggestions would help. Thanks
this rubber mat of 2mm thick should level it out.
sbr-rubber-2mm-eenzijde-doekafdruk-antislip-breedte-140cm-per-m2.jpg
 

Suesea

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
205
Reaction score
237
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
this rubber mat of 2mm thick should level it out.
sbr-rubber-2mm-eenzijde-doekafdruk-antislip-breedte-140cm-per-m2.jpg
Yes, that's what I wanted to begin with before the tank was delivered but the builder was adamant to move on without it. I am trying to get ahold of him so he can help fix this problem. I can't possibly help move the tank, so until then I'm on hold. Thanks
 
BRS

Do you quarantine new coral before adding it to your reef tank?

  • YES always

    Votes: 78 18.0%
  • Sometimes depending (tell us why)

    Votes: 51 11.8%
  • NO never

    Votes: 293 67.5%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 12 2.8%
REEFTIDE FOLLOW US @reeftideaquariums
Top