Dosing alk?

gasperagnes

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

I am new to the game and I was wondering if I am dosing alk correctly. I have my dos systems running off the trident. I am trying peg my alk at 9dkh. I am using a tremendous amount of alk per day. 155 ml. Is this normal? The tank has been up and running for a few months. Coral is not growing.My tank paremeters are as follows

180 GALLON TANK
40 GALLON SUMP
20 GALLON REFUGIUM
MAG- 1380
CAL-415
ALK-8.5 - 9

I have about 26 corals mixed. I have noticed a hardened crust on my heater and the dand hardening a bit. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Regards

Waters

"...in perfect isolation, here behind my wall."
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not saying this is the cause of yours, but any new tank I have ever set up that had a substrate used almost triple the ALK as my BB tanks do. Is your sandbed becoming solid (especially places like around and underneath the rock)? Also, what salt mix are you using (what are your starting numbers)?

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

I am new to the game and I was wondering if I am dosing alk correctly. I have my dos systems running off the trident. I am trying peg my alk at 9dkh. I am using a tremendous amount of alk per day. 155 ml. Is this normal? The tank has been up and running for a few months. Coral is not growing.My tank paremeters are as follows

180 GALLON TANK
40 GALLON SUMP
20 GALLON REFUGIUM
MAG- 1380
CAL-415
ALK-8.5 - 9

I have about 26 corals mixed. I have noticed a hardened crust on my heater and the dand hardening a bit. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Regards