Dosing pumps.?? Or stay manually

Tautog

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My 2- part has doubled since in the last month after switching lights from LEDs to T-5's. I've been dosing manually for the last 8 months, but my consumption has increased to 120 ml/ day of each 2- part. Do I need a dosing pump? I read they clog and fail. What's the best for the buck, reliable dosing pump? Do I need a controller too? I do everything manually, replenishing R/O as well. I have a 180 with 60+ corals, and going into Acro addiction! Thanks for your help

Bj’s Reef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would get a Doser . I went a long time with out one. To be honest it's hard to be regular with the dosing day to day. I for one would miss a day here and there. My wife ended up in the hospital for a few days. Guess what I didn't do? Yep my wife's favorite coral paid the price. Please get a Doser it will not forget to dose your tank. Life's to busy to trust our tanks to our memory. There are a lot of good Dosers out there. Just get a quality Doser from the start. I have a Ghl Doser and I really like it. I can make adjustments from anywhere. It just depends on what you really like.

Water Dog

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I believe in dosing pumps as you can spread out the intervals of dosing throughout the day for better stability, which is very important for a growing acro addiction. Since I have an Apex, I use BRS dosers that I manually program... super reliable. Without a controller, I'd personally opt for the standalone GHL 2.1 Doser.

What's your budget for a dosing set up? Also, you should look into getting an ATO as well to better maintain salinity stability.

Travis Stewart

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0