Elementary School Aquarium Club

Cool Cat

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys and gals! This school year I’m starting an aquarium club with my 3rd graders. I will have 15 students that will pair up (well one group of 3) to create and maintain 7 nano reefs in different classrooms throughout our school. Each team will have a Evo XII marine AIO tank, a small heater, power bar, timer, small gravel vacuum, thermometer, gallon ice cream bucket & gallon jug for water changes (and top off), about 8 lbs of argalive sand, 10 - 15 pounds of LR & bleached dry rock combo, an 11 oz. bag of chemipure blue, of course salt water and $60 for live stock. Currently we have a 210 Reef with softies and LPS in our media center, a 32 biocube reef in our principal’s office and a 100 reef in my classroom. I’ve been keeping Reef tanks for about 20 years, but I’ve never kept one this small before! The plan is to teach my kids about the basics of reef keeping...biological processes, some chemistry, good husbandry (water changes, proper feeding, water tests...) researching animals and what they need, learning about habitats and adaptations. The kids will keep up with their testing data, observations and any actions they took when things were off (like algae blooms, cyano, ammonia spikes, high nutrients...) in a journal. We will be meeting every other week to do water changes, test our water, take photos to document progress of tanks and upload information to share on a google classroom blog. Area reefers are going to talk to the kids about their experiences, we are taking a tour of a local Saltwater fish store, and going on after school field trips to aquariums at science centers in our area. Students will also be making videos to teach other grade levels about the ecosystems they’ve created. I have high hopes for this club and everybody at school is super excited. So to make this as successful as possible I need your advice and expertise!