Euro Bracing for my new tank, what is safe

Bear_

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,

Let me start by saying I am brand new to the reef hobby and slowly working at a tank to eventually set up. Last tank I had was a full fresh water Discus tank until I moved and now recently working my way back into the hobby.

That being said I picked up a 150 Gallon fish tank which is 4 x 2 feet by 30 and 1/2 inches tall. I am pretty sure full of water is around 1800+ pounds and I had recently cleaned it all up and resealed the inside. (Sorry for dragging on the question).

Now while I was taking the tank apart to reseal everything with silicone I definitely much prefer the top plastic bracing being off. The tank is glass, half inch thick and the top was all around plastic bracing with a plastic middle which was all attached as one piece. I will attach pictures. Would it be safe if I had 3 piece of glass cut I was thinking 2 feet by 3-4 inches wide and half inch thick like the tank and silicone one in the middle and one on each side on the top. Would this work or should I really just put the ugly black plastic on top and be done with it.

My last question is, even though I did and ugly job this was my first time, does the silicone look like it will hold up.

67364090_725457461223534_3342962424469782528_n.jpg 67463354_775606336190165_7338580524392251392_n.jpg 67476048_916305695379844_4964911885561364480_n.jpg 67744511_485315395560496_6651616521330098176_n.jpg 67812039_451352722372039_3708080351671746560_n.jpg

jaxredsoxfan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
my guess is you'd be better off with the plastic rim. The glass bracing would just be inside from edge to edge and would be relying purely on the silicone to hold. The plastic goes around the outside and therefore I think would hold stronger.

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0