First Post - Need some advice or recommendations

soter

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys, im new to the hobby, new into this forum and I just receive my first Reef tank this last weekend, is a custom tank from my LFS,180 g, starphire glass, eurobrace and black silicone. Everything was ok with my new tank but after a full inspect in more detail, I found some concerns about the building quality. There is some small-thin bubbles in the silicone joins as well the joins are uneven. My major concern is with the right-side panel, the top front join is about 1 mm thin, while the lower front I can’t measure because is too thin.

What do you think , I'll be fine?

20180409_173535.jpg

20180430_174718.jpg

dbl

It Takes Less Energy to be Nice
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I too would recommend returning it. It may very well hold water and be perfectly fine for years to come. But, you paid what I would imagine is good money for the tank and you will always "see" those spots. Even if it does hold water, you'll always question, in the back of your mind, whether or not it will continue to hold water. There is enough to worry about in this hobby, your tank not blowing a seam need not be one of them.

GoVols

Cobb / Webb - 1989
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@soter
First off:
Welcome to Reef 2 Reef.

I would have your LFS, make it right.

Return the tank to your LFS and don't take no for an answer on a brand new tank.

You pay a great amount of money for an custom, and that manufacture should be ashamed of their work.

wangspeed

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think the bubbles you are looking at are part of the reinforced seams, not the structural silicone glass to glass bond. It’s an acrylic to glass bond, and they aren’t perfect. I don’t see anything obviously wrong about the silicone part of the seams in these pics. Still, I fully get that it’s an eyesore.

Jesterrace