First quarantine tank, questions to be had...

fisherc92

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Please spare me the should have done this in the first plave, im a noob.

Long story short i have a red hawkfish that has a blue cloud over his eyes for the past couple weeks. hes having trouble finding food in the water column and ive been babying him with syringe feeding. he also doesnt fly around the tank anymore, usually gets active at feeding time only now. ive dipped him once with furan 2 for about 20 minutes a week ago today. iw anted to give it time and observe before another dip, i thought i saw some increase in mobility / eyesight but its not improving more and definitely not like when i got him. i have a foxface that i feel has started to act weird as well weithin the last couple days, maybe cloud coming over the eyes ( i have read its normal tho) and not moving about the tank as much, although he still eats like a pig and can find the food well..

im looking to treat the hawk and most likely the foxface for flukes in a QT tank but im not sure about the quarantine SETUP and MAINTENANCE. i read the article about the standard QT process but i still have a couple questions.

1. how often are water changes done on a QT tank 10 Gal, and am i using display tank water ever after the initial setup? lets say for water changes?

2. im having trouble nailing down what filtration to use. i have a 40G AIO... should i use a sponge or filter floss before the skimmer or would taking some of my seachem matrix out of the bag and adding it into a new bag and putting it into the QT tank work as well.

3. any other advice?

ichthyogeek

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So looks like you're trying to treat for a possible eye infection, as well as flukes.