First Saltwater Tank for a Mantis Shrimp?

ZitoDragon

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi!
I have a bit of an odd question. Mantis shrimps are my absolute favorite animals. After some preliminary research I have seen they are tough sons of nutcrackers, and might be a good animal for a complete newbie to start with.
I want to make a species only tank for a mantis shrimp. I don't care what species, all though I would love suggestions. Perhaps at some point I will try introducing one or two fish, but nothing is going in that tank that I don't fully expect to be pummeled to death by a mantis shrimp. (I have heard too many horror stories about the little buggers wiping whole tanks.)
I have a thirty gallon tank that has been used for freshwater fish in the past. (I have done very well with them and with reptiles in the past.) I need to know exactly what would be required/recommended for the shrimp tank. What lighting? Filters? Salinity? Do I need to buy live rocks/sand? What species of shrimp? Food?

Thanks for any help!
If I've posted this to the wrong forum I am sorry.

Anthony Wood

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just typed out a novel for you with everything you need to know about a mantis and the tank set up and every single reason why it has to be done this way with perfect annolgies and rebuttels to every criticism of my info from people who think they know about mantis because they have had a small one living in their FOWLR or reef tanks for years. Then my phone died and lost everything! I'm very bitter at the moment because I have a peacock mantis shrimp living in his own tank for close over two years now, so I'm very passionate on the subject your asking about.