First time reefer, did I overdosed Ammonia and messed up the cycle?

RedG

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello reefers, I'm new to the salt water tank (been lurking around R2R for sometime), and have a few questions on how my cycle could possibly be going.

I'm on day 11 and these are the parameters I have as per Red Sea test kit (pic attached of days 1-11)
Ammonia over 2
Nitite 1
Nitrate 20

Tank is a 125G with dry Marco rock, and Caribsea live sand which were added around 5 days days prior to day 1.

Day 1 started with Dr. Tims One and Only and the Ammonia bottle called for 4 drops per gallon (based on 100G to account for rock and sand)
Day 3 another 4 drops per gallon were added.
Day 4 skimmer and UV light were turned on (Dr Tim's instruction called for 2 days, I figured I would give it an extra 2)
Day 10 I performed a 25G water change due to the high ammonia.

The Red Sea Ammonia test kit will only show me until 2ppm, and after day 7 the results were definitely darker than 2ppm. After doing a water change on day 10 the green definitely changed to a lighter green closer to the 2, but both Nitrite and Nitrates doubled.

I'm aware that this is the patience part, but I just want to know which way I'm heading and If I'm heading on the right direction, my questions are:

1. Did I overdosed the Ammonia and possibly stalled the cycle?
2. Should I perform another water change of another 25G?
3. Just seat back and let it run without touching it for hopefully another week or two?

I appreciate your wisdom and knowledge, and taking the time for your input.

IMG_0737.PNG IMG_0727.JPG IMG_0728.JPG IMG_0735.JPG

Gtinnel

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yep leave it be, the bacteria in the tank will grow and take care of the ammonia for you. Yes patience is one of the hardest parts of the hobby IME.
Once your ammonia goes down to zero, then do a water changed based upon how high your nitrates are.

Kuhmens

Community Member