Free-o Neptune system

CanDo

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello friends. I'm new to the hobby, so pls bear with me.. I was gifted this Neptune system. I have no idea what it is or it's exact age, just that it's a monitoring system and it is atleast 6 years old...maybe 8. It's basically a coiled up mess in a box, covered in pet hair and salt creep. The previous owner had it on their tank but didn't know how to use it. They just said that it needed to be calibrated and to Google it. Does anyone know if it's worth the effort to set up? What's the best way to get these probes cleaned up? Or should they be replaced? Or maybe what model it is? so I can start looking for a user manual and get it calibrated and up and running. Thanks again for all the knowledge ✌️

20220531_155634.jpg

homer1475

Figuring out the hobby one coral at a time.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Probes are junk, with the exception of possibly the temp probe. They are in order from left to right:
PH, Temp, orp, and salinity.

The need to be kept wet in order for them to work. I wouldn't bother replacing the salinity, as they are known to be off. The PH probe can be bought at BRS. Temp probe as well, but maybe fine.

It is what the call now the classic apex. Great system, and being gifted makes it even better. It probably has to be factory reset.

You can download the user manual from neptune.

homer1475

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
From top to bottom:
EB8
Apex brain
PM2 module
Display - Newer apex does not have this, and IMO it is a great feature to have if your internet goes down, and you can't access fusion. You can do anything with the display, including programming.

homer1475

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
FWIW....

Great tutorials from a resident "expert" @SuncrestReef .

ZombieEngineer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0