Geeks reef-pi "possible" build.

geekengineer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So far I not going to be building anything right away since I may start on other things first and also depending on if I decide to start up another tank again. I made up a quick diagram of what I think I would want to have for my setup. Of course depending on when different hardware becomes available this might change a bit. I have some things I want in the basement so I have to have a I2C bus extender unless some things can be done via USB maybe in the future.

saltwater_ras_pi.jpg

Mikeneedsahobby

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Wow planning.

I’m not good at planning but I can see how it will prevent redoing things later.

It is just so much fun to just jump in and start doing things right away without knowing where you are going.

Either way good luck! I’ll be watching for updates.

OP
OP
geekengineer

geekengineer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Lol I not sure if I'm good with planning either, but I thought it would be good to start out with a diagram of what I think I need. If I start with anything physical I work on building a stand for a 40 gallon breeder setup. I also need to do some major clean up in the basement where I want to put my RODI, Saltwater and ATO tanks. I like making messes more than cleaning up tho. :(

OP
OP
geekengineer

geekengineer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What is a long hall i2c buffer? Is letting you have outlets you can control in your basement using data from sensors in your dt?

Well assuming it will work OK I was going to try to use this special buffer chip in the link below. The person made boards for it on OSH park as well you can buy and I already bought a set of the PCBs in case I needed them. I think it will require slowing down the I2C bus to 100Khz (if its not that way already?) to be safe.