Getting Fish to Eat After Flukes

situationlol

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Unfortunately, after purchasing fish from an online vendor that markets themselves as a place to buy quarantined fish, a wave of flukes hit my tank. Also unfortunately, I'm relatively new to the hobby and it took me a couple weeks to realize what was going on. Since then, I've dosed with prazipro and it seems to have largely done the trick. The one convict tang who was scratching himself constantly has stopped and the other residents have regained their energy and are no longer shaking their heads and flashing. The only one who hasn't snapped out of it is a sailfin tang who was part of the shipment group. He has basically not eaten (other than pecking at algae, which I do see him do on occasion) since he arrived ~3 weeks ago. I gave him (and the other fish I was able to catch) an RODI dip and it did seem like flukes came off. Other than offering him a bunch of different foods, is there anything else I can do to get this guy to eat? He's noticeably thin at this point and I suspect he's on the brink of death. I'm not noticing serious bullying or anything other than the illness that would be stressing him out. My water is a little 'dirty' as some might say with nitrate and phosphate slightly elevated but nothing wildly out of line.

MnFish1

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I'm going with the first paragraph - how did you dose Prazipro? Was it correct?
Second - how do you know 'a wave of flukes hit your tank'

But I gather from your post - you're concerned about the sailfish - its unclear what 'flukes seemed to come off' - but - I might recheck your prazipro dose- re dose - and see what's happening

OP
OP
S

situationlol

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm going with the first paragraph - how did you dose Prazipro? Was it correct?
Second - how do you know 'a wave of flukes hit your tank'