Good idea? Taking a small sample of Hawaiian sand home to seed tank.

reefer_yyc

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just want to get some perspective as i am new to the hobby. I am currently in Hawaii and have a newly cycled tank at home. Is it a good idea or bad idea to bring a small amount of sand home to help seed the tank? I’m talking about a handful of sand.

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sealed with water and temp controlled would be ideal. Make sure to grab on the way to the airport. Also check local customs and dnr laws before doing so.

bshonesy

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just want to get some perspective as i am new to the hobby. I am currently in Hawaii and have a newly cycled tank at home. Is it a good idea or bad idea to bring a small amount of sand home to help seed the tank? I’m talking about a handful of sand.
Just be aware, everything in that sand that survives the plane flight (i.e., good bacteria yes, but also protozoans (potential fish and/or coral parasites), algae, etc) would be going in your tank where it may or may not have the proper consumers/predators present to keep it in balance like it does in Hawaii. Also I believe I read that it might actually be illegal to remove sand from beaches in Hawaii. People were taking so much from the black sand beaches that they actually noticed the loss if you can believe that, at least that’s the story I remember reading. I kindof like the idea of the aquabiomics live sand that you can buy that is tested for parasites. Something to think about if you’re looking for a more controlled source of biodiversity.

OP
OP
reefer_yyc

reefer_yyc

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0