Grey/white crud in between tentacles?

Wadogurl

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My anemone has grey/white crud between it's tentacles today. I also noticed some on its foot this morning before it opened up. We rearranged the rocks yesterday and it never let go of its spot, even when we had to take it out of the tank and into the holding bucket for a bit. All my fish look fine. Is this something I should worry about??
1zv966u.jpg
20kqf86.jpg
2qd8vph.jpg

PDR

<°)))>{
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!

I'm not an expert on this type of anemone, but it looks like normal rock/sand "dust". Sometimes the anemones will slime up if irritated (could be from when you were moving the rocks around) and some of the "dust" got caught in the slime. Nothing I would worry about.

Some of your rock looks pretty new, how old is your tank?

OP
OP
Wadogurl

Wadogurl

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!

I'm not an expert on this type of anemone, but it looks like normal rock/sand "dust". Sometimes the anemones will slime up if irritated (could be from when you were moving the rocks around) and some of the "dust" got caught in the slime. Nothing I would worry about.

Some of your rock looks pretty new, how old is your tank?

The tank has been up for about 7-8 months but we didn't have enough rock. I didn't want to pay for 50lbs of live rock. We did 20lbs of live rock and a 3in live sand bed when we started and yesterday had finally finished soaking 40lbs of dry rock. Our numbers are good and stuff but we had reached our "limit" on what we were comfortable adding without more structure. I was worried it was something from the new rocks. Glad it looks normal!!

Ron Reefman

Lets Go Snorkeling!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0