Hair algae problem

1fastrock

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Messages
112
Reaction score
99
Hello everyone. I’m looking for a little help with my tank. It is a year old and is a 90 gallon reef setup with 7 small fish in it. I have been doing everything I can to get rid of this hair algae but seem to not be able to get it under control. My nitrates are at 4.88 could that be the cause of my problem or is it something else?
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

brmreefer

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 26, 2020
Messages
410
Reaction score
611
Location
Milton, FL
Your NO3 (4.88 ppm) is at a good level. I personally stay at or below 5 ppm NO3.

A few things come to mind:

- Source water: Is it RODI. If "yes," then check the output TDS. Should be zero. If not zero, then change the filters.

- Phosphate (PO4) level: What is the system's PO4? Elevated PO4 levels will contribute to the issue.

- Manually remove what can be reached. Scale back any heavy feeding if this applies.
 

javisaman

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
274
Reaction score
83
What type of lighting do you use?
Remove as much algae as possible, then measure the phosphate and nitrate the next day. You might not have enough competing with the algae.
 

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
4,614
Reaction score
8,038
Location
Michigan
I had the same problem in my 90 at around the same age. Lasted 2 or 3 months and then disappeared forever. Nitrates being at 5 is good but probably being consumed rapidly by the GHA. Skim wet, remove what you can during water changes using your siphon and a toothbrush. Have faith, it will go away.
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock
OP
1

1fastrock

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Messages
112
Reaction score
99
Thanks got the replies everyone it’s encouraging to know there’s hope. I checked my tds and it said it has 6 coming in and 1 out so it’s probably time to change that out?
C9B58A4D-61BB-49C1-8ECB-2173F099B1A4.png

I am running 2 kessils in the tank and only have them in for like 5 hours I believe at minimal intensity. Is that too much. I can check the exact program I am running in the am.

E525C994-24D0-49DB-A2D4-2CAB496F6D5D.jpeg
56097575-8BC5-4077-9A10-DBE80464BC11.jpeg
0EC705C0-5AE9-4319-8C4C-7CB8F64E3E59.jpeg

I think they covered most of the questions. I am waiting for my Hanna test refills for phosphate them I’ll try to get a reading of that too
 

javisaman

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
274
Reaction score
83
Yea you need 0 TDS, while it's nearly impossible to know what's causing the reading > 0, it could be the cause of your algae problems. With the kessils, do you run a program that's white heavy?
 
OP
1

1fastrock

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Messages
112
Reaction score
99
My lights are 2 kessil a360 we and the schedule is

4:00: 20 color
20 intensity
6:00: 25 color
20 intensity
7:00: 25 color
25 intensity
Until 8:00 then the lights turn back off
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

alysak6075

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 2, 2020
Messages
186
Reaction score
125
An easy way to get it under control is to get a brown seahare. After its done eating all the HA just feed it nori sheets. I dont run a tank without one now.
 
OP
1

1fastrock

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Messages
112
Reaction score
99
Hey everyone. Still having this issue I added an urchin and a bunch of snails and hermit crabs. The light schedule stayed the same as well.
AE20068E-B9FA-437D-B23A-CC9D12C82E10.jpeg
8916C838-9976-4866-B9D7-E33033964F9F.jpeg
182AF798-ADA8-4DF8-8DD5-6718251B84D2.png
8916C838-9976-4866-B9D7-E33033964F9F.jpeg
 

Do you prefer rubble rock, larger rocks or no rock in your sump and why?

  • Rubble

    Votes: 81 34.9%
  • Larger Rock

    Votes: 69 29.7%
  • Nothing

    Votes: 57 24.6%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 25 10.8%
FM
Top