Hammer coral died THEN a white film took over the skeleton...what is this stuff?

Kan9

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It was crazy because it happened in 24-48 hours after the polyps disappeared. Will this hurt my other euphilia corals near by? What is this stuff?

image (3).jpg
image (2).jpg

Jeeperz

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like sponge of sorts. I have something similar that grows on rock that's shaded in a low flow area.

OP
OP
Kan9

Kan9

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like sponge of sorts. I have something similar that grows on rock that's shaded in a low flow area.
Maybe-it went from nothing to what you see in 48 hours, maybe less. crazy?! I do have high silicates though so....?

Jeeperz

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm honestly not sure. I'm no expert. I honestly don't even consider myself a novice, I'm below that, lol. It could be something bacterial even. Maybe reefsquad might know. I know my sponges grow fast in certain areas but they don't go beyond their little home they found. Just low light/low flow.

OP
OP
Kan9

Kan9

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm honestly not sure. I'm no expert. I honestly don't even consider myself a novice, I'm below that, lol. It could be something bacterial even. Maybe reefsquad might know. I know my sponges grow fast in certain areas but they don't go beyond their little home they found. Just low light/low flow.
Well thanks for the response. Par at this location is about 120 so maybe a little high for nonphotosynthetic sponges...

Jeeperz

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pull it, imo. Don't want the bacteria to spread to those other nice corals and potentially harm them. But another opinion may be better than mine.