Hammer won’t open :(

Barrett Barnes

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey R2R I’m new to this reef hobby started up my first tank this fall and I did the cycle and things went great everything is going awesome! Except one of my hammer coral frags I got about 5 days ago won’t open and it seems droopy and sad. It’s strange because all the other frags look great and are opening beautifully including another hammer from the same LFS! I will post pictures this evening but if there is anyone who can help me with this it would be greatly appreciated!!

Crabs McJones

I'm so shi-nay
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey R2R I’m new to this reef hobby started up my first tank this fall and I did the cycle and things went great everything is going awesome! Except one of my hammer coral frags I got about 5 days ago won’t open and it seems droopy and sad. It’s strange because all the other frags look great and are opening beautifully including another hammer from the same LFS! I will post pictures this evening but if there is anyone who can help me with this it would be greatly appreciated!!
Going to have to wait for the pictures, in the meantime can you post your water parameters, lighting, and flow?

DLHDesign

Ex-Noob
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It can take time to acclimate sometimes. If the "arms" are extending out of the skeletal structure, then it should be doing okay, at least. It may need slightly more flow or possibly light, so you might try moving it slightly closer to either/both. Small changes are better than large ones.

(And since I missed your first post - welcome to R2R!)

OP
OP
Barrett Barnes

Barrett Barnes

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0