Heater Control Question/Confusion

campindaddy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So, I'm planning out a new 90g build, and beginning to stock up on gear. I'm new to the controller side of the hobby, so I've done a ton of research and video watching of course, and have settled on definitely using an Apex on my build. It seems that many people tout the ability of the Apex to control temp/heaters very accurately, but then I see a ton of people suggesting to use separate heater controllers and only use the Apex as backup. I understand the constant cycling of the outlet(s) could cause issues, but then couldn't this be handled with a separate EB4 either from the start, or if/when the outlet eventually failed? I feel like I'm actually losing the true control of the Apex if I'm using an additional controller in between. I'm going to use a primary and secondary heater, so would either need 2 $60 Inkbirds for independent control (same cost as an EB4), or 1 Inkbird and then the secondary heater into the EB832 for backup only. Am I missing some advantage of the separate heater controllers?

laverda

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First there is no reason to control the tempature super accurately. Doing so will just run up your electric bill, wear out everything involved and your corals and fish will not be as hardy. Temperatures on the reefs vary and quickly, depending on a lot of things. If you maintain you temp at exactly 78 exactly; what is going to happen in a power outage when the temp swings to 70 or 82? Your corals are not going to be able to deal with it? Keeping the temp with in a 2 or 3 degree range a day is all you need. Your corals and fish will be hardier and more likely to handle a heater failure.
The big advantage of a controller is actually turning the heater on or off at specific temps. The simple bimetal switches and contacts used in many heater are very inconsistent as to when they come on and shut off.