Heavy metals and corals

Paul B

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nemo's Janitor. Thank you for that post. Actually I have been a master electrician for 40 years and I did know about electrolysis. (I invented and patented the majano Wand which creates electrolysis)
I was asking Randy how the metal Nichrome reacts with salt water. If it is toxic as with copper. If the heater was cracked and water enters, the GFCI would probably not trip unless you had a ground in there someplace, but the breaker should trip instantly stopping any electrolysis except the little reaction between the copper wire and nichrome heating element.
You are correct about the impeller wearing through the casing of pumps causing them to fail. That is the most common cause of pump failure. :D

reef_ranch

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I found this article posted below. Im curious if anyone has experienced coral death due to a known heavy metal in the tank.

http://scialert.net/fulltext/?doi=rjes.2009.96.102

ABSTRACT