13   0   0

Reef Devils

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all!
I’m very glad to finally post on this forum because it has been so extremely helpful over the last several weeks. I’m Brandon and I’ve recently set up a 6 gallon cube with the intent to get a couple fish/CUC later this week. I’m new to reefing but have a solid background with freshwater aquariums (like apples and oranges I’ve heard haha). My tank has been running for 6 days now; structure in the tank includes Arag Alive sand, 2/3 CaribSea Life Rock, and 1/3 live rock from an awesome coral-specializing LFS from one of their long-established tanks. I’ve got some hitchhikers from their rock (asterina stars, brittle star, bristle worms, some copepods) and they are still alive and well so I must have the most basic of basic baseline things down right? lol
Hardware consists of a HOB AquaClear 50, 50W adjustable heater (I have it set to 81°) very small adjustable flow circulation pump, and a NICREW A30 Reef LED light. I was actually impressed with the quality of the light for the price and rented a PAR meter from a LFS to determine PAR around my tank under the various intensities of the light (~80-230 range depending on light’s intensity setting/placement which doesn’t seem too shabby of a range for a little cube!)