Hello R2R community. New 250 TSV Build Thread Coming.

MontereyDNA

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
High Plains of The Great American Prairie
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a 200G Crystal Dynamics Peninsula and a Bashsea sump with skimmer and I'm eager to learn and share!

Out of curiosity, how would you cycle a tank like this? I'm leaning towards Triton and a fish only (no added ammonia) cycle with some clownfish but I'm a noob and really feel like I have to get it right out of the gate!

Anyway... long time lurker now participating!

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
welcome33.gif

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
I have a 200G Crystal Dynamics Peninsula and a Bashsea sump with skimmer and I'm eager to learn and share!

Out of curiosity, how would you cycle a tank like this? I'm leaning towards Triton and a fish only (no added ammonia) cycle with some clownfish but I'm a noob and really feel like I have to get it right out of the gate!

Anyway... long time lurker now participating!
Adding ammonia chloride or something to increase ammonia initially is often best way to tell if filters and denitrifying bacteria is doing its job. When ammonia rises then falls and holds a steady reading of Zero for at least 5 days and also nitrate rises and falls and holds at 20 or below- you are cycled.

OP
OP
MontereyDNA

MontereyDNA

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
High Plains of The Great American Prairie
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Adding ammonia chloride or something to increase ammonia initially is often best way to tell if filters and denitrifying bacteria is doing its job. When ammonia rises then falls and holds a steady reading of Zero for at least 5 days and also nitrate rises and falls and holds at 20 or below- you are cycled.
thanks! I've heard that... how about a fish only cycle with dry rock?