Help!!! Expert advice needed of feeding.

PaNoob

View Badges
Reaction score
Schuylkill County, Anthracite coal region
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello All!! Just set up an account. Long time reader but first time poster.
Ok, so I have a 36 gallon corner tank being run on a Fluval 205 canister. Just recently cleaned and reset tank with new sandbed. Nitrates, Phosphates, Green Hair Algae and vermited snails were outta control. Starting fresh. I've been running tank for 3 yrs with up and down success and scouring forums and youtube along the way.

I really need to nail down proper feeding.
My wife does the daily feeding and I believe it's too much. She suffers from anxiety in her belief that the poor fishys are still hungry, lol.
Í ,on the other hand, do all the tank testing, water chemistry calculations and maintenance and think it was way too much.
So, I'm seeking expert help on what, how much and how often we feed the tank.

Inhabitants:
Fish:
1- 7 in. Unicorn Tang
1- 3.5 Green Spotted Puffer
2- Engineer Goby's 7 in long and 6 in. Long
Look more like snakes than fish
2- Clown Fish. Female 3.in. Male 2.5 in
1- 2.5 in. Watchman Goby
1- 2 in. Green Chromis
1- 1 in. Blue Devil Damsel
Coral:
Palythoa Grandis about 20 polyps
Orange Mushroom 2 in. Diameter
CUC
12- assorted hermit crabs 1- 1.5 cm
12- assorted snails around 1 -1.5 cm

Current Feeding Schedule once per day.
Pinch of algae pellets
1/4 cube Frozen Mysis
1/4 cube Spirulina or Bloodworms alternating daily
1 clam on half shell for puffer

After tank issues and reset we agreed on the above feeding schedule which, accept for the clam, is actually one half of her previous daily feedings. We've been on this schedule for a week now and no issues so far.

I'm humbly requesting any modifications and/or recommendations from all you seasoned reefers out there.