Help, I’m trying not to quit.

Pierreb1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello reefers,

I’ve been reefing for over 3 years. I’ve spent tons of time and money on equipment, fish/coral, and husbandry. After spending/wasting money to pay someone to come once a month to maintain my tank and having the worse experience ever. I finally started managing my tank myself about a year ago.

My tank is now some what stable, but I’m still struggling to manage parameters, and I just can’t seem to keep any SPS alive and struggling to keep my hammer alive. Ironically rose tip anemone’s are thriving and so are anthelia. I have one torch that’s doing ok. I do weekly 15% water changes because my mag was ridiculous (1700) and it’s taking forever to go down.

I’m really trying to create a stable thriving reef for all my animals, but just feeling defeated. Maybe you all can see something I’m not.

Here are my parameters:
3/30/24
Salinity- 1.027 (usually 1.026)
Nitrate - 15 ppm
Nitrite - 0 ppm
Ammonia - 0.25 ppm (normally 0)
Phosphate - 0.09 ppm
PH - 8.1
Alkalinity - 8.1
Mag - 1595
Calcium - 410
Temperature - 77.9

Tank;
100 gal acrylic tank with built in filter loaded with dead coral for bio, then plummed down to 30 gal sump below with socks, bio block, Hydor SK-1000 skimmer, and Refugium. A Hygerr 1350gph pump at 1/2 speed. Two media reactors for GFO and carbon. Co2 scrubber when needed. Topping off RODI, only dosing Alk at this time. Lights are 3 ATI blue plus 1 purple 36”. And a cheap Amazon 600w led light 15”x8.3”. I’ve got 2 Max Spect Gyre XF330 for flow.

I feed 2 frozen brine cubes daily and 1 sheet of nori. Corals get gonipower mixed with Red Sea Coral AB+ twice a week.

I have 13 fish, a lot of anthelia and anemones. Plus a torch and a struggling hammer. And 6 or 7 other corals. Also growing gsp nicely.

Hopefully you all can help.

Thanks..

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0