Help me tweak my scape.

SeaJay

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Set up this 135 as a FOWLR about a year and a half ago with no idea what I was doing or getting into. What I ended up with was two big pile of rocks with a shipwreck in between. Now I’m upgrading all of my lighting, pumps, etc. to start reefing. So my LFS hooked me up with a couple of life rock coral trees and an arch that I liked, so I’ve put those in. I built the arch into a kind of cave, but after being shoulders deep for a while I step back and I realize it’s too symmetrical. Also, there’s nothing to tie it all together.

I moved rocks around until I just had to step back and take a break from it.

Any ideas that don’t involve starting over? I do think the trees are gonna look cool when they have corals all over them. I’m completely new to this, I’ve never kept corals, so any input would be appreciated.

The before.
7365A03E-E3E1-47B4-B9EA-13E98BAD80F7.jpeg

And the current
2E75D77D-47EC-4CA7-9E8B-FDBC3E06AE00.jpeg

Looks a little crazy right now with the colors since I used a combo of dry base rock, my existing rock and the new life rock. My Coraline is starting to take off though, so hopefully a uniform color will help some too. The wonky mismatched color is part of what’s making it look unnatural.

Cell

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can you get a straight ahead full tank shot, not angled?

Cell

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You just need to lower one of the pillars on either side and maybe beef up the opposite side with the displaced rock.

OP
OP
SeaJay

SeaJay

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can you get a straight ahead full tank shot, not angled?
Yeah. The couch is in the way so it’s tricky, but I do realize now the angled shots don’t show how almost perfectly symmetrical it is.