Help with equipment 40b + 40b

mahargkcin

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm a complete noob self confessed. I'm trying to get a build going. I have the 2 breeder tanks one, display other sump/refugium. I have a 100 gpd rodi filter. I have planted freshwater tank experience but this will be my first saltwater tank.
I am doing this for my son and he's in the last couple months of freshman year. Next year he's taking marine biology and who wouldn't love to have a nice reef tank[emoji16]
I am thinking about an ATI t5 fixture, either the 36" 4 lamp or the 24" 6 lamp. Probably mag 7 return pump. Overflow from glass holes. 2 korillia circ pumps. I'm not sure what skimmer. Need to plan my sump out and get the glass cut....
I have checked out many builds. I need help with pretty much everything and general advice. If anyone has the time to lend a hand. I'll try to document my build and everything I learn. [emoji26]

Johniejumbo

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I sure love a new tanks set up :D It's tough to decide what to do and in which order sometimes. Best thing I can suggest is searching this forum for any specific questions you have. LOTS of good info here. One bit of advice I notice gets overlooked a lot is the use of check valves or vacuum breaks in your lines.

OP
OP
M

mahargkcin

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes I think I have "paralysis by analysis". Been re analyzing and over analyzing everything. Very hard to decide on each and every piece of equipment.

Johniejumbo

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I totally understand that. I had my decisions simplified by lack of funds lol. I mostly got what I found a good deal on at the time. It seems to me most of the equipment out there will do the job as long as you keep up good regular maintenance. Do you have any products you are looking at? I can give my opinion for whatever it's worth :D

OP
OP
M

mahargkcin