Help with feeding new hatched clownfish fries..

zeo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hi ... my clowns lied eggs last night and the culture are really large I wish to rise them but i cant get any Rotifers to feed'em when they hatch .so any suggestion thanx in advance

dbl

It Takes Less Energy to be Nice
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I moved this over to the clownfish area for better response. I'm no expert, but it's my understanding the eggs would need to be moved to their own seperate tank and only eat rotifers. When I did the research on raising them a few years ago, I decided it was a little too much work for me.

davocean

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It's a bit more work than most would guess, and usually the first few spawns are supposed to not be as healthy or desireable so most that breed will let the first few spawns go anyway
It should happen every couple weeks, so I'd read up on what it takes to do it properly, and for now you have free healthy fish food.

Joyce Wilkerson's book on clownfishes is a good read for this.

dbl

It Takes Less Energy to be Nice
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It's a bit more work than most would guess....

That was certainly my case. Wife said she wanted me to raise them when our Snowflakes started laying. I did the research and told her it was too much work. She told me again she wanted them raised. I made her read the research. She then told me...well at least we have some free fish food every couple of weeks.

If you have the time and wherewithal to do, go for it. I do think it would be awesome to get it to work out.

Breadman03

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The quick basics are this:
Food chain:
  • fertilizer to feed algae cultures
  • Algae to feed rotifers
  • rotifers to feed newly hatched eggs