Help with Velvet Diagnosis of Black Tang

imagineapuddle

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I had a black tang shipped to me and received on Wednesday. Wasn't moving too much, but I figured it was stress from shipping and the quarantine/observation tank isn't too big for it's size. Tried feeding nori and some mysis shrimp Thursday, it ate a few bites of both, but continued to not move around too much. Friday it wouldn't eat nori or anything else and still wasn't moving from the spot it's in. Yesterday I started to get worried and upon inspecting it closely, he finally turned around and I was able to see on the other side what looked like dusting and a fair amount of white spots. This is my first time dealing with velvet, but from what I understand it matches the description, although he isn't hanging out in front of a power head.

I gave him a 5 min freshwater bath(didn't have Acriflavine or Formalin on hand to do anything else) and began dosing Cupramine at Seachem's recommendation. Today is the next day, the white spots and the dusting are no longer there, but he continues to not eat and is moving very little. Does anyone have any thoughts if my diagnosis of velvet is correct? I've been searching through threads and have found images of black tangs with similar pictures that were not velvet. I don't think he's taking to the copper treatment well even at the low levels it's at now and the seller had mentioned he had tried a prophylactic copper treatment previously, but had to stop due the tang not eating. If it is velvet, is there anything else I can do for him or to help him eat again?

Thanks

20210109_161142.jpg 20210109_161104.jpg 20210109_160516.jpg 20210109_160501.jpg

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0