Here is my attempt at plywood stand -- trim question

ps2cho

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I used one sheet of 8' x 4' 3/4" Red Oak plywood from HD for $49, 100 pack of kreg screws for $4 and one 24x24" scrap piece of birch ply from my wood pile for the bottom piece (since its hidden and I wasn't going to go buy another sheet of red oak)

The stand is 24 x 24 x 36 for my Biocube 29 coral quarantine/growout tank that is currently cycling on the floor until this is made, then I'll siphon all the water out, lift it on stand and it'll be ready to go.

This is my first time building a stand using only plywood and no 2x4 frame. I think it was actually a lot easier! Less issues with cuts that are short etc.

I'm useless at trimming having never done that before and having endless unfinished stands -- Do I attach trim using glue, or do I need to go buy a nailer or something? I own a plunge router that I bought a long time ago...is that something that I would even use on this project?

Pics below: still need to sand some rough edges btw

stand0.jpg

stand1.jpg

stand2.jpg

stand3.jpg

stand4.jpg

spscubed

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks good, strong work mate!
All you really need now is a good glue (I would recommend titebond ll as it is good around water) and some Blue painters tape. A small pin gun would definitely help you to hold it in place however if you cut the trim slightly larger than it needs to be you can we sand it down and it'll look beautiful. Just be careful not to sand the finish off of the oak because it'll probably be a thin veneer on the outside of that ply.
Now when you tape it down make sure you use good long portions of tape stretch it real tight over the piece of wood that your gluing down.
Other than that I just say keep up the good work buddy!

Pepcrylic

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0