Hi, complete newbie from Alabama.

Coxey81

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, thanks for having me. Hoping to learn alot from here.

I've been doing some research and have watched BRS's 5 minute guide to seting up your first aquarium. I plan to watch the 52 weeks of reefing.

I have decided if I join the hobby I want to go ahead and start with a large tank, around 125g.

Because of that as for now it will remain a dream for at least another 5 years as the location I want to put the DT is occupied by a desk and will remain so until my oldest moves out. After that her bedroom will turn into my office and a place for the desk, a mixing station, quarantine tank, etc.

But that gives me alot of time to plan and learn.

I would like to have a reef tank, but would be ok with starting with a FOWLR.

Im trying to decide if I would want to buy used or new.. and if used to what extent. I have seen several people selling some pretty nice looking and well maintained setups on Facebook marketplace. Some even moderately to well stocked for good prices. So I suppose my first question is what would be envolved in moving a tank like that as far as caring for the fish, coral, etc until the tank was setup?

Would I want to quarantine the fish, dip the coral, etc to make sure they are parasite free before reintroducing?

Or would I be better off looking for something that doesn't involve moving any thing living, or maybe only fish?

Thanks for any help, just trying to understand my options.

PeterC99

Solarbenchmark.com
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!

I’m a big proponent of buying used equipment including aquarium setups. That’s the way I got mine. Always ask condition, how old, bought new or used, and why selling. Ideally someone is upgrading to a larger aquarium or getting out of the hobby. You can used the marketplace on this site or similar selling site.