Horseshoe crab and refugium setup

sagedrake690

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Heya guys! I apologize beforehand for my long post and if it's in the wrong area, this seems right though but there is a lot of information and weird thing that happened. I am somewhat new to the hobby but I have read basically everything you can about everything concerning the care of horseshoe crabs and their husbandry as well as everything I can about keeping aquatic life alive. I have even talked to some biologists, one of them referred me to Anthony derringer of Kepley biosystems. (I believe that's his last name) My goal is to balance it so perfectly you never have to open the lid lol. My main care focus is on these three cute little arachnids but I want advice from professionals about upgrading and improving my setup. I am looking to breed them to repopulate so I can say I'm helping the planet! Also I want them to be happy not like in a lab lol. I have them in a 5 inch deep acrylic tub as recommended by every online source as these creatures are NOT reef compatible. They like brackish water and troll around in the bay in sand flats as juveniles and hang out near the shelf as adults or around the shallows. They are destructive when they dig and they like to push rocks. I have been observing them for over 2 weeks now and noticed they like to push the small rock around that I have in there. I have no idea what this is for but they do it frequently. My assumption is entertainment. They are also messy.
20201015_070136.jpg