How can I help my BTA grow bigger rather than split?

lba4590

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m totally new to this, just got my first anemone (RBTA) two days ago.. I think he’s happy. Found a spot within two hours of putting him in and hasn’t moved since.

The guy I got him from said his split like crazy. All about the same size as mine now, if not a little smaller. He said it would probably split soon after adding it to my tank. I’ve read that’s generally a stress response? What can I do to prevent it from splitting if anything? TIA

Also, does he look happy? lol

BBE58266-AC38-45C7-B0E2-F66DA474D1ED.jpeg

xxkenny90xx

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They do split when stressed, so make sure your tank is stable and don't touch the nem. They also split naturally when not stressed....

I have 4 right now. My green bta and rainbow bta split every couple of months. My red bta has never split. It's like 12" now. They are all within inches of each other. Sooo I have no clue how to keep them from splitting...

LesPoissons

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don’t know that there’s anything you can do other than just keep good parameters and see what your nem decides. I’ve had green, reds, and rainbows in “great” tank conditions and “way-way-less-than-ideal” conditions and only 1 nem has ever split in my tank- and it split in 4. Other people have nems that split constantly bc they are happy. Other have nems that split bc they are stressed. I think it just depends on the nem.

laverda

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Maintain stable water conditions especially Alkalinity. ALK swings definatly stress BTAs. I suspect keeping nitrates stable around 10 will help as well.

StlSalt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0