How can i quiet a noisy overflow?

Bthomas

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, im trying to set up my first tank. Did a plumbing test today and everything seems ok but one of the two overflows is gurgling alot and is really loud. Also have a lot of noise and large bubbles in the sump from the drain pipe.
How can i fix these 2 issues?
Attaching some pics of the setup..
fc4714a176c3d56367daa5dcfbc78f0f.jpg
59defa35b202efc152144a4cc4f3eb58.jpg
9300d17d7ebaeab35cb2b5b69e5632bd.jpg
ae8bd53ca88bfe2b57f2c7e6dd3e9ecd.jpg

Mandelstam

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm no plumbing expert but it looks like you are having the two drain pipes join to one before reaching the sump? That could be a problem. If you separate them you could tune them into a Herbie style overflow that's silent. But they need to be separate all the way then as one is going to be a full siphon.

OP
OP
Bthomas

Bthomas

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yeah they do join before reaching the sump. I hate to hear that i really didnt want to have to cut out all the plumbing and redo :(

OP
OP
Bthomas

Bthomas

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Anyone else have any experience with this? Im more concerned with quieting the gurgling of the standpipe

theMeat

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Definitely separate the drain pipes.
You could convert your durso to a stockman standpipe which will help a bit. If it were me I’d drill a third smaller hole for a 3/4 return in each overflow, and use the two bigger holes you have now for Herbie style. It will be silent.

Last edited:
OP
OP
Bthomas

Bthomas

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is seperating the drain pipes really the only way to get this quiet? Ive already redone this plumbing twice i really dont want to cut it out and do it again lol