how much to feed?

tekknow

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the hobby. I have a 200 gal tank with 2 fish - a 2" clown and a 1.5" damsel. I don't want to buy a lot of expensive fish, only to see them die due to my newbie mistakes. I'm using "Omega One whole Seafood Protein Marine mini pellets", as recommended by petco fish persion. The jar says "feed up to 3 times daily, using only enough food as your pet fish can consume in two minutes". Well this is a huge aquarium for 2 fish and they don't even see the pellets. They sink to the bottom pretty quickly. I fear they are not getting enough, but don't want to overfeed either to prevent nitrates. The damsel hides all day but comes out at night, so I drop about a dozen pellets in front of his nose and he eats a couple before the rest sink to the bottom. Same for the Clownfish. Advise?

DED65

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If the pellets are just sinking and not being eaten, you are just feeding the tank. I use LRS Reef Frenzy, PE Mysis, both frozen food and Reef Nutrition roe to feed mine. I never thought about feeding the really processed foods and the few times I have tried pellets, the fish didn’t bother with them. You should be able to get away with feeding twice a day. Others will have more ideas on what to feed. If you can, spot feed the fish. That’s a big tank for two fish and for the small amount of food that they need will be hard to find in the size of tank:)

betareef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think the best idea is to use food that will stay suspended in the water flow for a longer time. They will then chase it as it flows by. I thaw a frozen cube of food, and mix it with a nip or two of water. I then use a syringe to add a few millitres of the mixture. This is enough for one feeding for my three small fish in my nano. I only feed once a day a lot of the time. I am watching the algae, and the fishes waistline :)

Mr. Mojo Rising