Hydros Control 2 , Control 4 and accessories question and answer thread.

Neptune
Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED lighting

JeffB418

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 3, 2016
Messages
220
Reaction score
227
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
BIG Hydros release coming out today!

App 209 and Firmware 192 are now available for the following devices:
Control X4
Control X2
Control XS
Control X3
WaveEngine
IceCap WiFi Controller

What's new?
Added Automatic Water Changes with ATO incorporated.
Compatibility with "Simple, Always-On (when powered)" Dosing pumps.
Compatibility with the Mastertronic.
Added Logs.
We added lighting schedules.

YOU MUST HAVE APP 209 BEFORE INSTALLING NEW FW!!!

Full details here https://forum.coralvuehydros.com/threads/app-209-firmware-192.994/

 

KliJefs

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
26
Reaction score
13
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Saint Paul, MN
How can I run a second power 4 bar on a two outlet housing if one outlet is used by my first power 4 and the second is used by the controller itself? Don't know if I explained that right but I need more outlets under the tank and I know I probably can just plug a second power 4 into the first
 

n2585722

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Messages
2,206
Reaction score
1,272
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Cedar Park, Tx
How can I run a second power 4 bar on a two outlet housing if one outlet is used by my first power 4 and the second is used by the controller itself? Don't know if I explained that right but I need more outlets under the tank and I know I probably can just plug a second power 4 into the first
Don't power a wifi power strip with another power strip. They make standard power strips you can use. Just make sure whatever you use it will not get water spilled on it. They make devices you can use on your wall outlet that expands the number of outlets. You can usually get them at Lowes or Home Depot.
 
AquaCave Logo Banner

n2585722

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Messages
2,206
Reaction score
1,272
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Cedar Park, Tx
How difficult would it be to control a 12v solenoid to bypass airflow through a CO2 scrubber based on PH prob value? Would it be easier to use an AC 120 volt solenoid using the power strip?
I have three solenoids hooked to Hydros 12v drive ports. They are for turning on water flow at my RODI though.
 
Zoanthids

ironman187

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 10, 2019
Messages
206
Reaction score
151
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I have three solenoids hooked to Hydros 12v drive ports. They are for turning on water flow at my RODI though.
3 solenoids for RO/DI?

How difficult would it be to control a 12v solenoid to bypass airflow through a CO2 scrubber based on PH prob value? Would it be easier to use an AC 120 volt solenoid using the power strip?

Coralvue makes a CO2 solenoid specifically for Hydros, all you need is an open drive port.
 

n2585722

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Messages
2,206
Reaction score
1,272
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Cedar Park, Tx
3 solenoids for RO/DI?
Yes, actually 4. one for the input feed to the RODI, one for the DI storage tank refill, one for the mix tank refill and one for flush bypass. The input one is powered off an AC transformer instead of a drive port.
 

n2585722

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Messages
2,206
Reaction score
1,272
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Cedar Park, Tx
Coralvue makes a CO2 solenoid specifically for Hydros, all you need is an open drive port.
That solenoid is for controlling CO2 to a calcium reactor. I am not sure if it will work on a CO2 scrubber or not.
 

ironman187

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 10, 2019
Messages
206
Reaction score
151
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
That solenoid is for controlling CO2 to a calcium reactor. I am not sure if it will work on a CO2 scrubber or not.
I don't see why it wouldn't.
Yes, actually 4. one for the input feed to the RODI, one for the DI storage tank refill, one for the mix tank refill and one for flush bypass. The input one is powered off an AC transformer instead of a drive port.
The one for the RO/DI and the DI storage tank serve the same function. Redundancy?
 

n2585722

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Messages
2,206
Reaction score
1,272
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Cedar Park, Tx
I don't see why it wouldn't.
It is metal. Might be best to use the one for water in that application. Most pepole doing this want a 3/8" instead of 1/4".

The one for the RO/DI and the DI storage tank serve the same function. Redundancy?
Not really. All are controlled by my Hydros but the one on the input is turned on if either the one to refill the mix tank or the one for the DI tank refill is on. It also turns on once every hour for 10 minuted to refill the RO bladder for the fridge. The DI tank is automatically refilled if it goes low. If the fresh salt water tank goes low it is automatically refill with the mix tank if the mix tank is ready to use. Then it refills the mix tank with DI from the RODI unit automatically once it is low. When this happens it reset the ready state to not ready until I press a button to tell it it is ready to use again. So all I have to do is add the salt mix after the mix tank refills.
 
Avast

Schraufabagel

Aquarium Addict
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 29, 2020
Messages
1,174
Reaction score
2,631
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Wisconsin
XP8 Announced Wired outlet controller.
It wasn’t entirely clear, is this meant to be powered through the command bus connection? Or is there a hardwired outlet connection built into it? Would be awesome if I could reduce the amount of power strips needing to be plugged in

EDIT: never mind, watched the video and saw that it’s connected direct to an outlet
 
Last edited:

JeffB418

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 3, 2016
Messages
220
Reaction score
227
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
7803B6F4-B613-4564-88F5-DFFBBA418C9A.jpeg
FCEE210A-E529-42E9-BDFC-1A65576BBF28.jpeg
8075D89B-CE9B-4EC1-AC73-AA1480ECDD44.jpeg
 
Avast
Neptune

What would you buy RIGHT NOW if you found an AMAZING deal on it?

  • Equipment

    Votes: 433 51.2%
  • Dry Goods

    Votes: 24 2.8%
  • Fish

    Votes: 81 9.6%
  • Coral

    Votes: 227 26.8%
  • Other Livestock

    Votes: 9 1.1%
  • Nothing

    Votes: 62 7.3%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 10 1.2%
JASON FOX SIGNATURE CORALS
Top